Red Krayola / God Bless The Red Krayola And All Who Sail With It (CD)


CD / Reissue – Limited Edition / Remastered

w/ 16-page Booklet – Deluxe media book

Label: Charly Records

Out of stock

<= Store SKU: SNAX631CD Category: Tags: , , ,


CD / Reissue – Limited Edition / Remastered

“The Epic Second Album from 1967. Re-mastered by SONIC BOOM (Pete Kember). 16 page booklet with liner notes by Paul Drummond. Deluxe Media Book – Limited Edition.”

Back cover notes:

“We are ambitious. We will hide the things we are afraid of. Directing our interest to that of which we are not afraid, in light of the music all peoples, we have noticed how international sounds are present in the music that we make. Music has to do with people. People listening (as FRB. Rapho says, “Music is delicious!”) is, after all, part of the musical process. Quite simply, we hope that you will enjoy our music.” THE RED KRAYOLA”


Format: CD

#Ref: SNAX631CD

Release date: 2011

Release notes

A low-fi psychedelic classic. With its weird time signatures, loopy bass and drums, Mayo Thompson is a kind of Syd Barrett by way of Texas. Their previous album is a loud, freaked out classic. This album influenced bands as diverse as Galaxie 500 (who covered the catchy ‘Victory Garden’), Spacemen 3, Gastro Del Sol and in spirit if not sound, many of the Chicago bands that involve John McEntire (The Sea and Cake, Tortoise) and many others that record for the Drag City label. Second album by the American experimental rock band Red Krayola, released in May 1968 by the International Artists record label. “‘God Bless the Red Krayola and All Who Sail with It’ bears precious little resemblance to anything else that appeared at the time; it would take a few decades of post-punk experimentalism before Mayo Thompson’s vision would have a truly suitable context, though the album’s playful undercurrent goes a long way toward making these tiny shards of sound go down easily for the musically open-minded.” The Spin Alternative Record Guide called the album “superb,” describing it as “small songs full of quiet terror and acoustic confusion.” Media book packaging is very nice.

Charly’s superlative International Artists reissue campaign continues with a deluxe edition of The Red Krayola’s 1968 classic second album, ‘God Bless The Red Krayola And All Who Sail With It’.

 Along with the Elevators, The Red Krayola were the mainstays of the International Artists label, and are recognised in Psychedelic circles as producing some of the strangest music ever (combining elements of avant-garde and garage with wild, experimental freak-outs and chilling stripped down songs which sounded unlike anything from the 1960s).

 The album has been re-mastered from the original master tapes by Pete Kember, AKA Sonic Boom, the former member of Spaceman 3 and producer of MGMT and Panda Bear. 

 Packaged in a luxury digibook, this edition also features an extensive booklet written by IA authority Paul Drummond, as well as a preface from Sonic Boom.


LP Side 1

1 Say Hello To Jamie Jones 2:31

2 Music 1:01

3 The Shirt 2:49

4 Listen To This 0:06

5 Save The House 1:25

6 Victory Garden 1:52

7 Coconut Hotel 1:24

8 Sheriff Jack 2:14

9 Free Piece 2:19

10 Ravi Shankar: Parachutist 2:12

11 Piece For Piano And Guitar 0:50

12 Dairymaid’s Lament 2:32


LP Side 2

13 Big (Vocal Holly Pritchett) 1:35

14 Leejol 2:42

15 Sherlock Holmes 2:57

16 Dirth Of Tilth 1:30

17 Tina’s Gone To Have A Baby 1:50

18 Jewels Of The Madonna 1:28

19 Green Of My Pants 3:03

20 Night Song 1:55

Audio | Video

Dig It Too !

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop