Glenn Branca

:: Available items from this Artist/Band ::

Glenn Branca / The Ascension (Vinyl LP)

Glenn Branca / The Ascension

(Vinyl LP – Superior Viaduct)

Glenn Branca’s first full-length album The Ascension is a colossal achievement. After touring much of 1980 with an all-star band featuring four guitarists (Branca, fellow composers Ned Sublette and David Rosenbloom, and future Sonic Youth member Lee Ranaldo) with Jeffrey Glenn on bass and Stephan Wischerth on drums, Branca took his war-torn group into a studio in Hell’s Kitchen to record five incendiary compositions. Originally released in 1981 on 99 Records, The Ascension effectively tears down the genre-ghettos between 20th century avant-garde and ecstatic rock ‘n’ roll.

Read more

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop