Rudimentary Peni / Death Church (Vinyl LP)


Vinyl LP – Reissue / Remastered

Label: Sealed Records

In stock

<= Store SKU: SEAL-014 Categories: , Tag:


Vinyl LP – Reissue / Remastered

Originally released in 1983 by Corpus Christi. Remastered from the original master tapes, housed in a replica poster sleeve.


Format: Vinyl LP

#Ref: SEAL-014

Release date: 2022

Release notes

The words legendary, seminal, and classic get thrown around at will these days, but Rudimentary Peni’s debut album is all of them. Recorded over two days at Southern Studios by John Loder and originally released in 1983 by Crass off-shoot label Corpus Christi, Death Church showed a band moving away from the urgency of their two early 7”s and into their own realm. Creating a template that bands have been trying to replicate ever since, while ticking all the boxes to become a genre-defining album. Iconic artwork, a unique sound and their own lyrical universe. All merging seamlessly. Sonically the album is full of Nick Blinko’s extraordinary vocals and equally remarkable guitar, Grant Matthews’ big meandering driving basslines and Jon Greville’s tight and relentless drum work which together made something intricate and hard hitting, with a sequence that makes the 21 songs on the album flow perfectly. Visually, the album is every outsider art lover’s wet dream. A six-panel poster sleeve with every inch covered in Nick Blinko’s claustrophobic black and white line drawings, while lyrically the songs deal with madness, religion, death, and questioning humankind from a dark poetic place rarely found in any art form.

Remastered from the original master tapes by Arthur Rizk and housed in a replica poster sleeve. Death Church is back in print in LP, CD and cassette after nearly a decade of no official reissues


Corpus Christi Side

A1 ¼ Dead

A2 Blissful Myth

A3 The Psycho Squat

A4 Rotten To The Core

A5 Poppycock

A6 Cosmic Hearse

A7 The Cloud Song

A8 Vampire State Building

A9 Blasphemy Squad

A10 When You Are A Martian Church

A11 Pig In A Blanket

Rudimental Human Side

B1 Inside

B2 Nothing But A Nightmare

B3 Flesh Crucifix

B4 Slimy Member

B5 Love Is Not

B6 Radio Schizo

B7 Happy Farm

B8 Alice Crucifies The Paedophiles

B9 Army Of Jesus

B10 Dutchmen

Audio | Video

Dig It Too !

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop