Various ‎/ Pebbles Vol. One : Original Artyfacts From The First Punk Era (Vinyl LP)


Vinyl  LP / Reissue – Repress


Label: BFD Records

Out of stock


Vinyl  LP / Reissue – Repress


Original Artyfacts From The First Punk Era Volume One


Format: Vinyl LP

#Ref: BFD-5016

Release date: N/A

Release notes

Fantastic collection of 60’s Garage songs feat. The Litter, Preachers Outcasts, Squires, Haunted, Kim Fowley, Shadows of Knight, Elastik Band Split Ends, Positively 13 O’Clock an more. 16 tracks.

This will be the final pressing of Pebbles EVER!  Ltd to 250 copies.  Get em while they last!

PEBBLES VOL. 1 is now a legitimate anthology of rare and vintage garage rock singles from the style’s 1960s heyday. The point of the PEBBLES compilations has always been that they take it as given that the listener is familiar with the best-known works in the style, such as the Count Five’s “Psychotic Reaction.” So these tracks are filled with the more obscure and often downright unhinged, like the Elastik Band’s “Spazz,” one of the most incoherent and bizarre singles ever released by a major label, or the Outcasts’ apocalyptic study of disaffection, “I’m In Pittsburgh (And It’s Raining).” This makes PEBBLES VOL. 1 an excellent second step into the garage rock underground. Charity Stafford

Pebbles is a compilation of US underground and garage singles from the mid to late 1960s. It had a limited original release in 1978 and a more general release in 1979 (where the album was identified simply as Pebbles); this album was followed by several subsequent Pebbles compilations and albums (nearly 100 in all). This album is nowadays known as Pebbles, Volume 1 and was originally issued in 1978 as Pebbles, Volume 1: Original Artyfacts from the First Punk Era. The music on this first volume is uniformly excellent and highly representative of the best of the obscure music collected in the Pebbles series. The frantic cover of the Count Five classic by Positively 13 O’Clock is from a one-time studio session that includes members of Mouse and the Traps; it also appears on a retrospective album of this band that was released on Eva Records. The cover of Dylan’s “Like a Rolling Stone” is hilariously to the tune of “Louie Louie”. Songs by well known bands are normally not included on Pebbles albums unless they are curiosities, and the track(s) by the Shadows of Knight – famed for their major hit with Van Morrison’s “Gloria” – is no exception. Following a brief clip of “Gloria”, the band introduces themselves with corny yet charming answers – sample: “What kind of fans do you prefer?”, “I prefer electric fans” – followed by a song that the band wrote “especially for you”. “Potato Chip” was originally released on a promotional flexidisc (evidently for a potato chip company) and is surely the most earnest ode to a snack food ever recorded.

NOTE – PEBBLES was originally mastered by Greg Shaw, from old singles from his collection.   The first song on side one vol 1, the Litter, was even mastered with a SKIP!  Bands often perform that song with the skip, to the delight of their audience.  We have not remastered or changed the originals in any way.  If you want perfect sound quality, this aint the place for it.  This is the historical original mastering with all of its flaws and character.


Side A

A1 –The Litter – Action Woman
A2 –The Preachers – Who Do You Love
A3 –Floyd Dakil Combo – Dance Franny Dance
A4 –The Outcasts – I’m In Pittsburgh (And It’s Raining)
A5 –The Squires – Going All The Way
A6 –The Grains Of Sand – Going Away Baby
A7 –The Ju-Ju’s – You Treat Me Bad
A8 –The Haunted – 1-2-5

Side B

B1 –The Soup Greens – Like A Rolling Stone
B2 –The Wig – Crackin’ Up
B3 –Positively 13 O’Clock – Psychotic Reaction
B4 –Kim Fowley – The Trip
B5 –The Elastik Band – Spazz
B6 –The Split Ends – Rich With Nothin’
B7 –The Shadows Of Knight – Potato Chip
B8 –The Wild Knights – Beaver Patrol

Audio | Video

Dig It Too !

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop